REVIEW: Vixen

BOOK: Vixentumblr_np4vh30Ll61r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Jillian Larkin
PAGES: 432
PUBLISHER: Delacorte Books
MY RATING: ★ ★ (2/5)

Jazz… Booze… Boys… It’s a dangerous combination.
Every girl wants what she can’t have. Seventeen-year-old Gloria Carmody wants the flapper lifestyle–and the bobbed hair, cigarettes, and music-filled nights that go with it. Now that she’s engaged to Sebastian Grey, scion of one of Chicago’s most powerful families, Gloria’s party days are over before they’ve even begun… or are they?

Clara Knowles, Gloria’s goody-two-shoes cousin, has arrived to make sure the high-society wedding comes off without a hitch–but Clara isn’t as lily-white as she appears. Seems she has some dirty little secrets of her own that she’ll do anything to keep hidden…

Lorraine Dyer, Gloria’s social-climbing best friend, is tired of living in Gloria’s shadow. When Lorraine’s envy spills over into desperate spite, no one is safe. And someone’s going to be very sorry…

MY REVIEW:
I was so bummed to realize this was a series. I didn’t know that when I originally picked this up for about $4 at Indigo. Then the end left me all in suspense and I want to know what happens. Though the story wasn’t very well written and I hadn’t been expecting much. It was well enough, but there wasn’t really anything about the novel to make it stand out. I feel like the only thing that really kept me reading was the era. I was curious about certain events that conspired, but it wasn’t really written in such a way that kept my attention. In fact I read half the book and put it down for about a year before I even picked it back up again.

Leave a Reply

