REVIEW: Cress

BOOK: Cresstumblr_nrx8trOcY11r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Marissa Meyer
PAGES: 552
PUBLISHER: Square Fish
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker; unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

My Review:
Meyer expands on the story of Cress, a character we first met in Cinder, in her third novel of the Lunar Chronicles series. Cress is a lunar shell, taken by Luna’s government as a babe, and trained to be a special hacker. Having spent the last several years orbiting Earth alone in her satellite, Cress dreams of being rescued and living a fairytale romance.

I really enjoyed Cress’ character at the beginning of the novel. A sweet, innocent young girl who just wants to leave the confines of her “prison”. Unfortunately, her naivety and trepidation towards basically everything started to get on my nerves after awhile. Though that may be unfair of me (I mean she did spend the majority of her life in absolute seclusion). I am excited to see how her character grows in Winter. Her romance (can we really call it that?) with Thorne was sweet though, and I’m also interested to see what becomes of that.

I think Thorne has easily become my favorite character in this series. His heavy sarcasm combines with his disability in this novel had me chuckling several times. Wolf got pretty whiny for my tastes and not a lot of Scarlet in this one, hence whiny Wolf. I understand that they have a special connection but it felt a little much to me. Kai seemed to grow a bit of a backbone though, and actually confronted Cinder. Which was honestly a relief for me because Cinder was finally able to say some of the things I’d been dying for her to finally be able to say/admit since book one!

There was a lot more action in this book, in my opinion, then in Scarlet. I kept a steady interest in the story line throughout. The last paragraph had me eager to get my hands on Winter!

Leave a Reply

