REVIEW: I’ll Give You the Sun

tumblr_null788jnL1r06e19o1_400BOOK: I’ll Give You the Sun
AUTHOR: Jandy Nelson
PAGES: 371
PUBLISHER: Dial Books
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ (5/5)

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways … until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

MY REVIEW:
I devoured this book in 24 hours. I felt all the things.

I think this is one of the most beautiful YA books I’ve read this year. I have a love/hate relationship with YA lit, and honestly, this book just surpassed every expectation I had. It got so much praise, but it truly lived up to the hype.

Jandy Nelson has an incredibly strong voice in her work. This book is filled with so many beautiful metaphors and the most colorful similes. It’s a creative adventure that will keep your imagination reeling. I don’t think I would consider myself an artist, but I grew up in an artistic home, went to an arts school, do my fair share of dabbling, and I have always had an admiration for all things art. When I was younger and going through some troubled times, I remember my Dad telling me that even though things were difficult, this would be a time for me to create some of my best work. I feel like my appreciation for art really allowed me to enjoy this book even more because I understood what was going on. I can understand this exchange of joy, despair, hope, and fear that we project/use are art as an outlet for.

I fell in love with every single one of these characters, though none of them were perfect. I found parts of myself in each one. Some of the characters and the events were cliche at times, but it didn’t matter because everything else felt so real and relatable. I wanted to give everyone a big hug. My eyes filled with tears at certain points and it wasn’t even really that the story was sad. I mean, it was to an extent, but it was just so beautifully written and the characters were so broken but they all just wanted to put themselves back together. It was the understanding of what is going on, and the fact that those things that you didn’t know how to put into words are right there on the page and you understand.

That’s really the whole theme of this book. The breaking and remaking. Splitting apart and coming back together.

Leave a Reply

