REVIEW: Taste of Darkness

tumblr_npuug1Uxpl1r06e19o1_400BOOK: Taste of Darkness
AUTHOR: Maria V. Snyder
PAGES: 458
PUBLISHER: Harlequin MIRA
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

She’s fought death and won. But how can she fight her fears?

Avry knows hardship and trouble. She fought the plague and survived. She took on King Tohon and defeated him. But now her heart-mate, Kerrick, is missing, and Avry fears he’s gone forever.

But there’s a more immediate threat: The Skeleton King plots to claim the Fifteen Realms for his own. With armies in disarray and the dead not staying down, Avry’s healing powers are needed now more than ever.

Torn between love and loyalty, Avry must choose her path carefully. For the future of her world depends on her decision.

MY REVIEW:
The Healer series comes to a close, and I can’t decide how I feel. Overall I enjoyed the series, and while I have no regrets about reading it, I feel like the ending just wasn’t right. Although Snyder technically spent the whole series leading up to the cause of the ending, it was too happy ending for me. Maybe I’m just being a little grim. Technically the main character dies about three times in the novels and comes back to life each time. It was just a little too good to be true for me.

I really enjoyed the characters, and Belen remains my favorite throughout the series. I didn’t much care for Kerrick in the first book, but he definitely grew on me in the last two books and I felt his character definitely went through some growth throughout. It really helped that books 2 and 3 have chapters written from his point of view.

Kerrick’s story actually grew particularly interesting to me in this book as well. While his “tree mojo” powers were intriguing, Snyder really roped me in with her cliffhanger in book 2 and the changes to his magic were exciting as they kept changing and he learned the extent of them in Taste of Darkness.

While I don’t know if I can say it will be a series I’d go back to read, it was still a pleasant experience, and I would recommend the series to anyone interested in a light fantasy series.

 

Leave a Reply

