REVIEW: Scent of Magic

BOOK: Scent of Magictumblr_npic2conxl1r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Maria V. Snyder
PAGES: 414
PUBLISHER: Mira
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ (4/5)

As the last Healer in the Fifteen Realms, Avry of Kazan is in a unique position: in the minds of her friends and foes alike, she no longer exists. Despite her need to prevent the megalomanical King Tohon from winning control of the Realms, Avry is also determined to find her sister and repair their estrangement. And she must do it alone, as Kerrick, her partner and sole confident, returns to Alga to summon his country into battle.

Though she should be in hiding, Avry will do whatever she can to support Tohon’s opponents. Including infiltrating a holy army, evading magic sniffers, teaching forest skills to soldiers and figuring out how to stop Tohon’s most horrible creations yet; an army of the walking dead—human and animal alike and nearly impossible to defeat.

War is coming and Avry is alone. Unless she figures out how to do the impossible … again.

MY REVIEW:
Okay, before I start this review I have to admit something. I had all three books right off the bat. When I finished Touch of Power, I accidentally picked up Taste of Darkness thinking it was the second book and read the first page. Literally within the first two paragraphs are all the spoilers from Scent of Magic. At first I was like “what’s going on, are we jumping into the future to continue this story?” Then I realized my stupid mistakes.

So basically, I went into reading this book already knowing the major spoilers, and I feel like that altered the rating of this book for me a little. At first I thought to give it 3 stars, but then I thought about the fact that the book was really enjoyable overall, and I actually liked it better than the first. Plus, if I hadn’t known the spoilers from my silly mistake of picking up book 3, the probably actually would’ve thrown me a bit.

All of that aside, the book is worth reading if you read the first one. As I said, I actually enjoyed it more. This book had a bit more action for me, whereas I felt in the first book it was just a lot of roaming around in the woods until the end. I also grew to like Avry a little more in this book, as there was definitely character growth for her since the first book. Love the relationship that she has developed with Kerrick, but the fact that it doesn’t overpower everything else that’s going on.

Belen is ultimately my favorite character from this series, and so I was really upset by the events that perspire in this book, and I’m eager to see how his story line progresses in book three.

Also, the ending totally threw me. In fact, when I finished I literally threw my book across the room and wanted to start reading Taste of Darkness IMMEDIATELY. Lots of feels for the ending of this book, and I think that’s also why I feel this book deserves an extra star from my original rating. It actually moved my emotions so much that I was so upset, haha.

If you enjoyed Touch of Power, I say read this book!

Leave a Reply

