REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses

BOOK: A Court of Thorns and Rosestumblr_nulpjqcr581r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas
PAGES: 416
PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury Childrens
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ (4/5)

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

MY REVIEW:
So, Throne of Glass is totally on my TBR anyways, but I’m honestly glad I let A Court of Thorns and Roses be my introduction to Sarah J. Maas.

“She stole a life. Now she must pay with her heart.”

As I’m sure most of you all know already, this book is a Beauty & the Beast retelling, and it’s undoubtedly the reason I was drawn into this book in the first place. Beauty & the Beast is easily one of my favorite fairytales.

I honestly had a hard time getting into this book. It was a slow start and it took me quite a few chapters to get to a point where I really could respect & sympathize with the main character, Feyre. Feyre is a young girl who made a promise at her mothers deathbed that she would take care of her family. When her father loses their fortune, Feyre & her two older sisters are stuck living in poverty. Feyre picks up a unique set of skills by studying other people in her village and carries the weight of her family on her shoulders. After one particular hunting trip, Feyre’s family home is disrupted by an angry Fae named Tamlin who demands a life for a life; death or a life spent on his estate in the magical Fae lands.

“‘All those years, what I did for them… And they didn’t try to stop you from taking me.’ There it was, the giant pain that cracked me in two if I thought about it too long.”

Though they understandably start their relationship with some hostility, eventually Feyre and Tamlin start to bond over the burdens they are both forced to carry, and common ground is found.

“A half-wild beast, Nesta had once called me. It was an effort to not take his hand, to not reach out to him and tell him that I understood.”

I found myself drawn to Tamlin’s character, despite the obvious cliches, and really grew to appreciate the relationship Feyre developed. I was very surprised (though in no way disappointed) by how steamy some of the scenes got for a YA novel!

“His lips were smooth against my skin, his breath warm, and my knees buckled as he lifted my other hand to his mouth and kissed it, too. Kissed it carefully – in a way that made heat begin pounding in my core, between my legs.”

It wasn’t just the sex scenes that felt so steamy, there was a great deal of intimacy within many of their exchanges.

“But I lived in that moment – my life became beautiful again for those few seconds when our hands grazed.”

Of course from there, their story only gets more complicated. Events occur that draw the two apart and trials are faced in attempt to fight for their freedom.

“’Not forever,’ he said onto my mouth. And though I knew it was a lie, I put my arms around his neck and kissed him.”

Though Maas’ world didn’t feel as fully realized as it could’ve been, once she hooked me in I was there for the long haul. Maas shows she has a strong voice in today’s YA scene and I am very excited to see how she continues the second installment of ACOTAR!

Leave a Reply

