REVIEW: Red Queen

BOOK: Red Queentumblr_ntf0j4wkss1r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Victoria Aveyard
PAGES: 383
PUBLISHER: Orion
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

MY REVIEW:
My first thought when I finished Red Queen was “they are so going to turn this mediocre book into an even worse movie”. Then I read there was a film deal.

I’m very conflicted on how I feel about this book. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t really good either. The author has a great vocabulary and her descriptions were so colorful and she really brought the world to life. I wanted to like her because she is one of us, a young girl with an interest in reading and she managed to score a book deal. I want to be supportive, but I just didn’t think the book overall was that great.

The story was full of cliches, which doesn’t have to be a bad thing, but it was. This book keeps getting compared to high fantasy and I can’t possibly understand why. I’ve seen it compared to Game of Thrones and that blows me away? HOW?! Every character in Game of Thrones has their flaws, but they are strong as hell. Mare just didn’t do it for me.

Mare felt a lot weaker to me than I believe Aveyard wanted to portray her. Before she was taken by the Silvers she had turned to thieving and giving in to the fact that the war was going to inevitably be the place she ended up. She never struck me as much of a fighter. Even when she was disguised as a Silver and decided that she wanted to join the rebellion, she didn’t really do much. She had no ideas. She waited for instructions. She never had much to offer.

I’m not even going to touch base on the love triangle because I honestly can’t stand them ever since Twilight.

I will admit that Maven’s character did kind of throw me for a loop. In the beginning I was full of suspicion and then when he was there at midnight when they met with the rebellion, all I could think was “Okay, I know exactly where this is going”. But as the story went on I actually started to believe that maybe he was really intent on overthrowing the society they lived in. So when my original thoughts turned out to be true, I was a little surprised. I have to give the author props for that. After the big plot twist, all I could think of was the part in Frozen where he’s like “If only there was someone out there who loved you.” Even after the big betrayal it seemed like he could actually have a hint of genuine feelings for Mare, and I am kind of interested to see if anything more becomes of that.

Cal was kind of everything you’d expect in a love interest. He’s the prince, next in line for the throne. The looming prospect of taking control of an entire nation is weighing on his shoulders. He wants to be liked.

I found the plot to be very slow going. Mare got on my nerves a lot with her whole “poor me” and all her sadness that was just repeated over and over just so we wouldn’t forget how full of woe she was. There wasn’t a lot of action to move it along either.

I briefly touched on this as I was reading and updating my progress, but I have a hard time reading through “special abilities” such as those belonging to the Silvers. I just find that they are ridiculously hard to write about without coming off as just plain cheesy and juvenile.

I suppose I’ll likely read the next book (I do hate leaving things unfinished), not sure if I’ll purchase it though.

Leave a Reply

