REVIEW: Scarlet

BOOK: Scarlettumblr_nqtzkqtlci1r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Marissa Meyer
PAGES: 454
PUBLISHER: Square Fish
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

Cinder is back and trying to break out of prison–even though she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive if she does–in this second installment from Marissa Meyer.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother, or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana.

My Review:
In Meyer’s second novel in The Lunar Chronicles series, we meet Scarlet Benoit, a small town French farmer completely distraught over her missing Grandmother. Meyer does an excellent job at weaving Scarlet into the story of Cinder, however I just couldn’t find the love I had for Cinder as much in the second novel.

At first I found Scarlet’s character to be a bit annoying. Her extreme concern for her missing Grandmother coupled with her constantly trembling behind the gun she always carried was completely masking who she was as a character, and I felt we didn’t really get a true feeling of who she was until closer to the end of the book. That being said, towards the end of the novel I felt like I was watching Scarlet come into her true potential and was proud of her strong independence and determined nature.

Of course, Cinder was here too. We got to witness her escape from imprisonment and meet her new companion, Thorne. While I appreciated Thorne & Cinder’s witty banter between each other, I found their story progression to be a bit slow paced and at times boring to read through. While I devoured Cinder within 24 hours, I was stuck on Scarlet for a week, finding myself not bothered to pick it up at times. Until I got closer to the end, in which the story really picked up and I finished the last half of the novel in one sitting.

In terms of love interests so far in this series, I can’t really complain. I really appreciated Kai in Cinder, however in Scarlet he is coming off quite broody. Not without reason, of course. He’s lost his father, been ‘betrayed’ by someone he believed to be a close friend, has become responsible for an entire nation, and has the constant threat of war looming over his head. But I can’t help wondering why Earth is not more prepared for war when the threat has been looming for several years, since long before Kai came into power. They have eyewitness accounts of Levana’s special army, and yet they have no defenses of their own? I can’t help but be a little disappointed on that account.

Wolf is a very interesting character to me, though. Having well known the story of Little Red Riding Hood, I kept questioning whether or not I could really trust Wolf throughout the entire book, even when it seemed he was on Scarlet’s side. I feel like his character was incredibly well written, and my interest in his motives alone kept me continuing to pick up the book through the slower paced beginning. There is more to his character than what you first believe, and I’m excited to see how his story continues to intertwine with Scarlet.

Overall, if you’re looking for a lot of action, you won’t see much until closer to the end. It won’t stop me from picking up Cress, the novel is still full of colorful characters and the main story line is still enough to keep me reading until the end. Enjoy, Lunar Chronicles fans!

Leave a Reply

