REVIEW: Throne of Glass

BOOK: Throne of Glasstog-nyt-cover
AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas
PAGES: 404
PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ (4/5)

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

MY REVIEW:
This book has sat on my shelf for well over a year and I went about avoiding it because I was so worried that this book would not live up to my hopes. But after I finished A Court of Mist & Fury this spring, I knew I could not wait another year before I got lost in another Maas story.

THIS WOMAN THOUGH.

I want to bow down to her for writing these phenomenal fantasy stories with these incredibly strong young women leads. They are completely badass, and the story just continues to unfold the deeper you get into each series. Sarah J. Maas writes pure magic.

Throne of Glass is the story of Celaena, a notorious assassin locked up as a slave in the salt mines of Endovier after her capture one year ago. Celaena can’t believe it when the crown prince (Dorian) shows up at Endovier with his captain of the guard (Chaol) and they ask for her. Presented with her only opportunity for freedom, Dorian asks Celaena to act as his endorsement in a competition to become the King’s Champion. Upon winning the competition, Celaena would be presented with a 4 year contract that binds her to the kingdom, but would be free to do as she pleases when the contract is up.

Feeling as though she doesn’t exactly have much of a say in the matter, Celaena travels back to the kingdom with Dorian & Chaol and begins training for the competition of her life, making a few friends along the way. But something evil stirs in her midst, and Celaena fears she must get to the bottom of it if she wants to save herself, save her kingdom.

“She practically threw the rapier into place, and drew the hunting knives without hesitation.
My dear old friends.
A wicked smile spread across her face.”

I love everything about this book. It didn’t completely blow me away, but it has quickly become a favorite. I LOVE Celaena’s character. Before reading this I read a lot of things about how this book was silly because how can she be this intense and feared assassin whilst also loving to prance around in dresses and eat little cakes. Like, really? WHY CAN’T SHE? Why does one have to contradict the other? Celaena is a deeply developed character. She is so dimensional and I know her character will only continue to grow. She’s a bit of a smartass and she certainly doesn’t hold her tongue when perhaps she should, but I love it. She’s quirky and real. Her femininity doesn’t take away from her talents or her dark past. God knows if I’d just spent the last year in a slave camp, I’d probably enjoy indulging in some of these feminine luxuries, too!

“‘I can survive well enough on my own – if given proper reading material’”

I also surprisingly appreciated the love triangle here. It was subtle, but it was there. And I know it is such an overused trope, and I know that generally it’s a trope that makes me want to throw my book across the room, but it just worked. And it was dealt with in a way that made me excited. Celaena is a strong independent woman who ain’t need no man, but if she doesn’t at least KISS Chaol once in this series, all hope I had is lost.

Dorian isn’t so bad for a Prince either. He has that typical boyish charm, and his distance from his father is certainly not a foreign story line. But again, Maas has a way with bringing her characters to life and breathing magic into their every being. Chaol seems the very moody captain of the guard, but he’s charming in his own ways and I just wanted to pinch his cheeks and tell him that everything would work out for the best.

I like that despite potential relationship developments in the future of this series, Celaena chose to focus on herself at the end. She has goals and she wants to see those come to life.

Overall, I am completely in awe, yet again, by Maas. I can’t wait to continue this series and I am so glad I have the next two books on hand!

Leave a Reply

