REVIEW: A Clash of Kings

BOOK: A Clash of Kings tumblr_ntf0ezDnh81r06e19o1_400.jpg
AUTHOR: George R.R. Martin
PAGES: 1009
PUBLISHER: Bantam
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

In this eagerly awaited sequel to A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin has created a work of unsurpassed vision, power, and imagination. A Clash of Kings transports us to a world of revelry and revenge, wizardry and warfare unlike any you have ever experienced.

A comet the colour of blood and flame cuts across the sky. And from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war. It is a tale in which brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk at night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel…and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles.

Audacious, inventive, brilliantly imagined, A Clash of Kings is a novel of dazzling beauty and boundless enchantment—a tale of pure excitement you will never forget.

MY REVIEW:
I think the biggest struggle with reviewing this series while also having watched the TV series, is making sure I can distinguish between which was which.

I think the fact that I had watched the TV show before I started reading the books has taken away from the effect of the books a little bit. Which is honestly a little sad, but doesn’t make the series any less enjoyable.

George R.R. Martin continues to blow me away with his intricate story and ever-expanding plot. The fact that he manages to keep everyone’s story straight and intricate, and yet all woven together is incredible to me. It’s one thing to read it, and can be easy enough to keep it all in mind, but I can’t even imagine being able to create so many characters and story lines and weave them together so seamlessly.

This particular book was a little slow going for me. Although Tyrion is easily one of my favorite characters, the other lions drive me crazy, and as much as I want them to fail, they continue to prevail. Bran’s story, though some may argue is incredibly important to the story, is incredibly boring to me. His are the only chapters I seem disappointed to come upon.

Trying to keep out of mind what I know happens in the TV show, I’m not sure who exactly I’m rooting for to be king. Each candidate seems to come with their own set of problems, and I don’t know who’s I’d want to actually put up with.

Leave a Reply

