REVIEW: Graceling

BOOK: Gracelingtumblr_np4un8vyud1r06e19o1_400
AUTHOR: Kristin Cashore
PAGES: 471
PUBLISHER: Harcourt
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.

She never expects to become Po’s friend.

She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…

MY REVIEW:
I had a lot of excitement towards reading this book. I’d heard a lot of good things about there being a very strong female protagonist, and it was on a lot of lists, and there were lots of good reviews, and let’s face it, the cover is absolutely beautiful. So I bought the book.

Wasn’t completely disappointed, but I felt that the character was more so “strong” physically than emotionally. There were times where her emotions felt a little silly to me and it kind of felt like she was very whiny. That being said, she was still a bit of a badass and I do like that she stood up for her beliefs, especially in regards to her relationship the whole way through. Towards the end I was half expecting she’d give in and accept a marriage, but she didn’t and that was a strong point for me. She was strong in her belief.

The story was alright but lacked depth in areas I sometimes felt the story could go further, or at least into more detail. The ending tied off all the loose ends, but still felt a bit rushed and inconclusive. It also at times read very heavily as a YA novel to me, which shouldn’t really be surprised because it IS a YA novel, however I felt at times it sort of had the feel to be more. And as much as I can enjoy YA, I prefer it in smaller doses.

All of that being said, the story was still worth reading and I am glad I picked it up. I have the next two books in the Graceling Realm as well and look forward to finishing those.

Leave a Reply

