REVIEW: Iron Cast

BOOK: Iron Cast3adc7b27437ac39a7302023781320477.jpg
AUTHOR: Destiny Soria
PAGES: 384
PUBLISHER: Amulet Books
MY RATING: N/A

It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

MY REVIEW:
I received a copy of this publication in exchange for an honest review.

DNF @ 54%

UGHHHHH. I am so disappointed. There are no words for how excited I was to read this book. Everything about it screamed to me that it would be a complete gem. We have a historical paranormal/fantasy story with a diverse set of characters, a black main character who features as the cover model, and an absolutely gorgeous book jacket. I was ready to lose myself.

Unfortunately the only thing I lost was my interest.

Not once, but twice.

On my first attempt I read about ¼ of my way through. The concept and logic behind the “powers” in this book was very intriguing to me, but nothing else about the story was clicking much and I grew bored. So I put the book down for about a month. Then I came back to it. I found that I has not been very invested and remembered very little after that month so I decided to start again from the beginning. Now I’ve made it a little over halfway through and the only thing that is really resonating with me is how much I do not care about anything.

I don’t care about any of the characters. Not a single one. Halfway through and sometimes I’d keep mixing up which of the main characters was Corrine and which was Ada. I did not even care enough to differentiate between the two. Nothing about the story gripped me. The writing and language of the book was not bad, but it didn’t set the book apart in any sort of way that would have kept me wanting to read it.

I’m putting the book down, and I do not even care.

Leave a Reply

