REVIEW: milk and honey

9781449474256_frontcoverBOOK: milk and honey
AUTHOR: Rupi Kaur
PAGES: 204
PUBLISHER: Createspace
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ (5/5)

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

MY REVIEW:
I absolutely adore reading poetry, but I really have to be in the right mood to sit down and read a collection. Milk & Honey fell into my lap at the exact moment that I needed it to. In truth, it had been on my reading list for some time now, but I’m so glad I picked it up when I did.

God bless Rupi Kaur. Seriously. I’d like to give her a big hug.

“so often
the only reason you know
you’re still alive is from the
heaving of your chest”

There is something for everyone in this collection. An emotional journey, Kaur takes us through the heartache of hurting, loving, breaking, and healing. Touching on topics like feminism, abuse, love, loss, and empowerment.

“like your mouth has the gift of reading and i’m your favorite book. find your favorite page in the soft spot between my legs and read it carefully. fluently. vividly. don’t you dare leave a single word untouched. and i swear my ending will be so good. the last few words will come. running to your mouth. and when you’re done. take a seat. cause it’s my turn to make music with my knees pressed to the ground.”

You absolutely cannot help but be moved by the vulnerability in the voice of Kaur. I envy the way she manages to string together simple sentences that pack a punch and leave me feeling utterly in awe. I envy the way she completely opened herself up to the world, the way she gives voice to the things we can all relate to but can’t find the words for.

“how did i not see that. how. did i sit here soaking in the idea that no one else wouldlove me that way. when it was i that taught you. when it was i that showed you how to fill. the way i needed to be filled. how cruel i was to myself. giving you credit for my warmth simply because you had felt it. thinking it was you who gave me strength. wit. beauty. simply because you recognized it. as if i was already not these things before i met you. as if i did not remain all these things once you left.”

These poems are raw. They’re heartbreaking. They’re erotic. They’re inspiring.

Find comfort in the words. Find growth. Find strength. Find healing.

And know that you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

