REVIEW: Slip of the Tongue

28230547BOOK: Slip of the Tongue
AUTHOR: Jessica Hawkins
PAGES: 371
PUBLISHER: Jessica Hawkins
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ (4/5)

Sadie Hunt isn’t perfect—but her husband is. Nathan Hunt has her coffee waiting every morning. He holds her hand until the last second. He worships the Manhattan sidewalk she walks on. Until one day, he just…stops. And Sadie finds herself in the last place she ever expected to be. Lonely in her marriage.

When rugged and sexy Finn Cohen moves into the apartment across the hall, he and Sadie share an immediate spark. Finn reveals dreams for a different life. Sadie wants to save her marriage. Their secrets should keep them apart, not ignite a blistering affair. But while Sadie’s marriage runs colder by the day, she and Finn burn hotter.

Her husband doesn’t want her anymore.
The man next door would give up everything to have her.

MY REVIEW:
I received an advanced electronic reading copy in exchange for an honest review.

If you know me, you know that romance is not my strong suit. A lot of the time I just find it too fluffy and convenient. Yet still I find myself picking them up every now and then to give it another go.

This book is hot!

Sadie prides herself on her perfect marriage to her husband, Nathan. Nathan has, quite literally, worshiped the ground Sadie walks upon and is always quick to keep her happy. After a few months of unusually distant behavior from her husband, Sadie struggles to understand where there relationship has gone wrong. In her loneliness, she finds comfort with her new apartment neighbor, and the two grow closer than Sadie would’ve imagined.

“My heart beats too hard to ignore. He stirs something in me, something I’ve been forced to bury for months. I don’t like it. I don’t like the fact that if it weren’t for Nathan, I’d invite Finn for another drink. Let the lines blur, the conversation get intimate. I’ll never know where it would go from there.”

So what makes this book so different for me? It’s Sadie. I find her to be such a relatable character. I see myself in Sadie. She’s not a perfect person, and she shows her affection differently from the way that the people who love her show their affections. Everyone gives and receives love in different ways, and the fact that there is an entire novel about this conflict and the way it can drive wedges in our relationships is just something I really appreciate. The conflict doesn’t feel frivolous or silly, these are real issues that we all face. I’ve seen a couple of reviews of people who think Sadie is a selfish character, but I don’t believe she is. She’s just not used to showing love to her husband the way he shows it to her, the way he expects to receive it back.

“‘The man puts you on a fucking pedestal. And you do the same to him. It’s about time you knocked each other off, because now you’re on the ground where you should be. And that’s the foundation you need to build on, not some lofty idea that you can’t be happy if you aren’t perfect.’”

There is a lot of emotion in this book, a lot of Sadie pondering what to do in the situations she’s placed in, but it’s well thought out and maturely written. The book kept me on my toes. It really took you through her thought process, which was ever changing, but it helped to make the book exciting in that I honestly didn’t know whom Sadie would ultimately choose. There’s a lot of unexpected wisdom in this book.

On to the fun stuff, the romance was HOT. The sex scenes will leave you flustered, but the intimate exchanges between the characters will leave you with a soft spot as well. Yes, inevitably it is a love triangle, but what did you expect from a novel about an affair? Plus, the two men are both really likable in their own ways and it’s easy to get confused about who you want Sadie to end up with.

All in all, a really great read. The sex will leave you hot and bothered while the story as a whole will really have you thinking about relationships with the people you love.

Leave a Reply

