REVIEW: The Sand Prince

26215189BOOK: The Sand Prince
AUTHOR: Kim Alexander
PAGES: 375
PUBLISHER: Booktrope Publishing
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

Two worlds

On the war-ravaged demon world of Eriis, Hellne, the fierce young queen, fights to keep her people alive, and to keep her son’s parentage a secret.

On the green and gentle human world of Mistra, the demons have faded into myth. Only a handful of old men and children still guard The Door between the worlds.

Bound by magic

Rhuun, the Prince of Eriis, uncovers a sultry book written by a human, sparking an obsession with the other world. When he is forced to flee Eriis, he must travel through The Door or pay the price in blood.

Divided by a door

The humans of Mistra are not what Rhuun was expecting—and one insufferable young woman in particular is about to find out that the demons of Eriis are not mythological after all.

MY REVIEW:
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Sand Prince had a huge opportunity to be a great fantasy novel, and perhaps it will redeem itself in its sequel. Unfortunately, I felt like it didn’t come into its full potential.

The Sand Prince starts off a little bit confusingly. Although the narrative still had me interested in the story, there was a lot of unclear changes from character points of view which had me questioning who everyone was when we hadn’t yet been introduced to these characters. But I got through it, and after the first few chapters I had a pretty clear grasp of who was who.

The story itself had a pretty strong beginning. Hellne really seemed like a character that I would grow to like. In the beginning she came off as a very strong and intelligent young woman. But as the story unfolded I became wary. I’m not quite sure what her intentions are. I guess that’s probably something we will find out in book two.

The idea of these two worlds connected only by access through the door was intriguing, and when the door was suddenly sealed closed in a subtle attempt at war I figured that an improbable romance would build between Hellne and Maloy. Wrong.

In fact, Rhuun is conceived and the truth of his human father is kept as a secret from him and the people of Eriis.

Then Rhuun got older, and I suspected a romance was developing between he and Aelle.

“‘I am yours,’ she told him before leaving. And, not taking any chances, she added, ‘and you are mine.’”

Turns out I was wrong on that account, too.

I guess what really frustrated me with this book is that it was nearly 400 pages and it felt like a whole lot of filler and not a lot of action. It was 400 pages to set up for a story that feels like it hasn’t even started yet. I also never felt like I was fully invested in the worlds or the characters that the author created.

2016 holds the release of the second installment of The Demon Door series, but I’m not so certain I’ll be involved.

Leave a Reply

