REVIEW: Remember to Breathe

4a562e_f88026111937e9a987981e659dea3b6f.gifBOOK: Remember to Breathe
AUTHOR: Simon Pont
PAGES: 240
PUBLISHER: Urbane Publications
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3/5)

Remember that time when Twitter sounded like an insult, no one had a Facebook page, and Britney Spears still looked innocent in pig tails?

Set in the buzzing location of London in 1999 ‘Remember to Breathe’ charts the highs, lows and in-between dreams of Samuel Grant, wild bunch of one, twenty-something survivor and lover of life.

‘Remember to Breathe’ is a rom-com trip set to a retro beat, for anyone who’s ever partied like it was 1999. And woken to realise that the last tequila was unwise.

MY REVIEW:
I received a copy of this publication in exchange for an honest review.

I’m struggling with exactly how I rate this book what with the fact that it wasn’t overall horrible and did have some funny bits, though I also didn’t really breeze through the book.

Remember to Breathe is being compared to a male version of Bridget Jones Diary. The only reason I can see it even possibly being described is such is because it is almost written like a diary with a lot of our main characters inner most thoughts. In terms of depth however, this book just doesn’t compare.

Remember to Breathe is Samuel Grant’s story. Sam works in advertising and has recently split from his long term girlfriend as she found out he had been cheating with another woman. He’s grown quite bored of his 9 to 5 and is stuck in an awkward limbo.

I can never seem to decide whether or not I actually like Sam. He is extremely flawed, and while this does well to really bring him to life and humanize his character, sometimes he just comes off as quite the prick. There’s no doubt that I could see many people finding Sam to be a bit sexist, and sometimes offensive in his views, though it didn’t particularly bother me much, and quite honestly the book had me chuckling a good many times. Sam is such an overly dramatic character, and while it serves to entertain, it also sometimes takes away from the story, especially when you grow tired of him whining over the same things.

The first half was a bit slow going. A lot of whining over the ex-girlfriend. Woe is me and whatnot. Lots of reflection throughout, though Sam grows maybe a minuscule amount (and that might be generous). His cynicism and over exaggeration of things is where a lot of the humor in this story comes from.

“The farther you go down a road, the farther you have to walk back? Was my father having sessions with the Dalai Lama or something? But you know what? My old man, he knew what he was saying. My walk back’s proving a walk and a half, a real true blue bastard of a hike, a goddamn odyssey no less.
My dad: fucking Yoda sometimes.”

I really think this whole book is going to come down to whether or not you like Sam, and that’s really why I feel so torn.

“Any wife of mine is going to be gorgeous, which means she’ll be currently going out with someone. Which is to say: Somebody, perhaps this very moment, is nailing my gorgeous wife. My wife, whom I haven’t even met yet!”

Overall, if you’re looking for a book that shows this innermost thoughts of somebody’s mind – the good, the bad, the ugly – look no further. Sam will have you laughing and cringing, often in the same sentence.

Leave a Reply

