REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury

tumblr_o0y5mtFTlE1u0il5ao2_1280.jpgBOOK: A Court of Mist and Fury
AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas
PAGES: 640
PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury Childrens
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ (5/5)

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

I just put down ACOMAF about ten minutes ago and I’m determined to write my review while my thoughts are reeling and everything is fresh in my mind.

HOLY. SHIT. HOLY SHIT.

How did this book manage to be so outstandingly better than the first in it’s series?

I am so dumbfounded right now. Trying to figure out how to write this without spoilers. I’m also simultaneously listening to the Spotify playlist that Maas released on her website as inspiration for the book. It’s intensifying all my feels.

Alright, so the book starts off shortly after ACOTAR ended, and everyone is still getting over the aftermath of all the events that went down, and Feyre is in a dark, dark place. Here’s the thing – I don’t like whiny main characters with a poor me attitude and a grim perspective the whole way through. But Feyre’s feelings are so much more than that. She IS in an incredibly dark place but there is more depth to her mourning and loathing than we can even understand. And therefore, right from the beginning, I felt protective of the main character. I sympathized with her. My heart broke right there alongside hers.

If you recall from the first book (and let’s be honest, of course you can!) Feyre made a pact with Rhysand to spend one week a month with him in his court in exchange for the healing she needed to complete her trials under the mountain.

After three months, and under some pretty tense circumstances, Rhysand winnows to the Spring Court to claim his first week with Feyre.

Tensions are high that first week as Feyre expects to be a prisoner in the Night Court, but Rhysand provides her with her own luxurious room and uses the week to begin teaching her to read, and tells her of his suspicions that she may have inherited some abilities from the rulers of the seven courts.

This novel is all about Feyre’s growth and overcoming the horrors from under the mountain as they work towards fighting a new enemy. In terms of character development, I am absolutely floored. I did not think I could love Feyre’s character any more than I already did. We already know from book one that Feyre is a strong young woman, but ACOMAF does a fantastic job of showing you the consequences of her character, and reveals that she truly is only human.

Okay, well technically she’s fae, but this girl has a lot of heart.

“Maybe Amarantha had won after all.
And some strange, new part of me wondered if my never returning might be a fitting punishment for him. For what he had done to me.”

If you’re team Tamlin, then I’m sorry to say that he occupies a very small sliver of this enormous novel. A Court of Mist and Fury will completely open your eyes to the enormity of Prythian, and everything that was never revealed to Feyre through the one she put her life on the line for.

If you’re team Rhysand, like myself, then you are going to love this novel. You will love the witty banter exchanges, the tension throughout the whole novel, and it’s satisfying conclusion.

“The words hit me, even as they soothed some jagged piece in my soul. ‘He did – does love me, Rhysand.’
‘The issue wasn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be poison.’”

I have to say, the revelation revealed by the Suriel in the latter part of the book completely floored me, and I couldn’t have been more hooked.

Rhysand will have you squirming with glee because of the way he treats Feyre as an equal, compared to the way Tamlin wants to hide her away to protect her from everything. He does not let her shine, and that is arguably the greatest conflict of the novel.

We also see a huge character development with Rhysand, realizing we were completely ignorant of his story in ACOTAR. I think that is my favorite part about this book. The depth that Maas went into creating this character is simply breathtaking. All of her characters, really. The companions of this novel leave you with a huge smile on your face.

“’He thinks I’ll remember him as the villain in the story.’
She snorted.
‘But I forgot to tell him,’ I said quietly, opening the door, ‘that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key.’
‘Oh?’
I shrugged. ‘He was the one who let me out.’”

I laughed, I cried. I put down this book and wanted to be in this crazy beautiful world. The story broke my heart, but it also brought hope and strength. This book has a special place in my heart.

And can we just talk about how phenomenal Maas is at foreshadowing to greater events in the story? I never would have guessed some of those twists, little things that had been hinted at in ACOTAR. Such fantastic story building. It honestly blew me away.

I’m not sure what else I can really say without giving away spoilers and completely gushing about all my favorite parts. I haven’t fangirled so hard over a book in a longggg time.

This book has clearly surpassed all of my expectations. If you enjoy fantasy, you’d be a fool not to check out this series.

Leave a Reply

