REVIEW: Freefall Into Us

25362866BOOK: Freefall Into Us
AUTHOR: Tess Rosa
PAGES: 234
PUBLISHER: Urbane Publications
MY RATING: ★ ★ (2/5)

Tess Rosa Ruiz is a powerful new voice on the American literary scene, redolent of Kerouac and Rollins in a battle of words. Freefall into Us is a compelling collection of unique poetry and prose that provides an emotional mosaic of the path of relationships. This is a raw and visceral insight into how women and men desire, need, want and ultimately love each other in the most beautiful, passionate and honest ways. The carefully structured flow of poetry and short stories provides the reader with a constantly challenging and engaging snapshot of humanity, leading them through different stages of desire, sex, lust, obsession and passion in adult relationships. These are the feelings we have all felt, but are often afraid to voice. Freefall into the words and perhaps, just perhaps, you’ll recognize a piece of you.

MY REVIEW:
I received a copy of this publication in exchange for an honest review.

Oh, thank goodness it’s over. After the first third of the book, this got painful to finish. I read the description over and over: “This is a raw and visceral insight into how women and men desire, need, want and ultimately love each other in the most beautiful, passionate and honest ways.” How on earth did anybody take that impression away from this collection of poems and short stories?!

First off, I’m not even really going to touch on the poetry. The thing with poetry is that there are so many different styles and formats, and I feel like everyone has their own little niche when it comes to poetry. This was just not the kind of like. It personally felt like poorly written prose rather than poetry.

The short stories themselves weren’t necessarily bad, not all of them, but they weren’t always particularly interesting either. I did kind of like the one concerning the young man and his typewriter, but again, I don’t see how they really fell into the theme I was lead to believe was being portrayed. While I can appreciate some tragedy within written work, this was downright grim for most of the collection. I feel like the author was trying to portray a more realistic perception by focusing not purely on the positive, but also on the negative. But it just came off way too gloomy for me. A lot of “what the fuck?” moments for me as well, so I suppose the author is at least good for a surprise.

I wish I had more positivity to shine on this work, but I just did not enjoy it. Perhaps the messages the author was trying to portray are just going right over my head, I won’t put it past me, but I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

