REVIEW: Dreaming Death

dreamingdeath_reviseBOOK: Dreaming Death
AUTHOR: J. Kathleen Cheney
PAGES: 400
PUBLISHER: Berkley Publishing Group, Roc
MY RATING: N/A

Shironne Anjir’s status as a sensitive is both a gift and a curse. Her augmented senses allow her to discover and feel things others can’t, but her talents come with a price: a constant assault of emotions and sensations has left her blind. Determined to use her abilities as best she can, Shironne works tirelessly as an investigator for the Larossan army.

A member of the royal family’s guard, Mikael Lee also possesses an overwhelming power—he dreams of the deaths of others, sometimes in vivid, shocking detail, and sometimes in cryptic fragments and half-remembered images.

But then a killer brings a reign of terror to the city, snuffing out his victims with an arcane and deadly blood magic. Only Shironne can sense and interpret Mikael’s dim, dark dreams of the murders. And what they find together will lead them into a nightmare…

MY REVIEW:
I received a copy of this publication in exchange for an honest review.

DNF @ 42%

Well everybody, this is it. This is the first time I have ever put down a book and chosen not to finish it. And you know what? It likely won’t be my last. If you’ve been following my reviews for awhile now, you know that I always push through, even when I’m just not that invested in the story. Today I randomly stumbled upon an article titled “10 Signs You Should Give Up on A Book You’re In The Middle Of”.

I’m not exactly sure why it hadn’t dawned on me sooner, but I started asking myself “why am I pushing myself to read through these books that I don’t enjoy? Reading is supposed to be fun!” A lot of the time I have been using the excuse that, especially when I am reading for publishers, that it’s important to give my honest opinion. But when I’m reading a book that I just CANNOT get into, it’s going to reflect negatively in my review regardless of the authors writing, or the story. I think the lack of wanting to continue reading the story is enough of an honest opinion. So I’m not going to rate it so as to lower the overall rating for those who may be interested into entering this world.

Now, more related to the book, this is such a slow fantasy novel. There is no action. Being almost halfway through a 400+ page novel, and nothing very interesting has happened. Cheney started her novel just throwing us right into the world, using terms that I didn’t understand until I got a substantial way into the novel. It threw me off. The narration switches between different characters points of view, which I don’t mind, but it felt poorly done. Sometimes it would take me a few paragraphs to realize who we were focused on. The characters are nothing special, either, and I think that’s my second biggest qualm with the novel. I’m not invested in any of their stories, they don’t interest me, therefore I don’t really care. Hell, I didn’t even realize one of the main characters was blind until partway through the novel.

Overall, there just wasn’t really anything going on, reading the words felt pretty pointless as we were going nowhere, and I kept looking at the page number to see how much closer to the end I was.

Leave a Reply

