REVIEW: Harley Quinn Volume 3: Kiss Kiss Bang Stab

61bl6iwko2l-_sx331_bo1204203200_BOOK: Harley Quinn Volume 3: Kiss Kiss Bang Stab
AUTHOR: Amanda Conner
PAGES: 176
PUBLISHER: DC Comics
MY RATING: ★ ★ ★ (3.5/5)

Harley was certain she could have it all: She could be the world’s best landlord, protect Coney Island from the scum of the Earth, woo Mason Macabre, work her day job as a psychiatrist, volunteer at the puppy shelter…but that’s a whole lot of spinning plates, and eventually they’re bound to start breaking! What happens when a psychopath cracks up? Is it possible for Harley to go even more insane?!

MY REVIEW:
I received an advanced reading copy of this publication in exchange for an honest review.

So I was looking over some of the other reviews of this edition and there seems to be a lot of people that are disappointed by how vibrant and colorful this collection is, and it surprised me a little bit. I mean, I somewhat agree with what some are saying that it isn’t exactly true to Gotham, as we all have Gotham in our minds as this grim dark place. Personally, though, I thought the artwork was rather beautiful and all of the color is what initially drew me in. The artists did a phenomenal job.

While the stories included were pretty good, I especially enjoyed the win a date with Bruce Wayne story, I also found that a lot of them were pretty mundane. I wasn’t sure how I felt about this at first. There was no denying that the stories were still entertaining, but did I really want to read about a villain shopping for pet food and trying to balance their work, social, and personal life? But the more I thought about it, the more I liked the idea. We’re human beings living somewhat mundane lives ourselves, and sometimes it’s exciting to see a superhero or villain and know they still have to go through life like the rest of us.

The only story I’d say I didn’t much appreciate was the last bit where Harley is hiring help for her overcrowded days. It was an interesting concept, but I hate that the whole story wasn’t included in the collection. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

